logo  
 
HOME: 06-07, info, history, people, misc, Links | Newsreel | Shop | Calendar | Table | Stats | FAQs | HELP


The FA Premier League (FAPL) have contacted us, claiming copyright on future Premier League fixtures and asking us to remove them from this page.

Please see this section at the bottom of this page, for an explanation of why we're not complying with this request.


July August September October December January February March April May Key

ArseWEB calendar 2006-2007

  • Dates link to match reports
  • Team names link to team pages
  • Key, and Goalscorers table (with 2-letter scorers codes) follow the calendar
  • Kick-off times, unless otherwise stated, are (to the best of our knowledge)
    • Saturdays - 3.00 PM
    • Sundays - 4.00 PM
    • Midweek - 7.45 or 8.00 PM
  • We make every effort to keep this information up to date. However if you are travelling to a match, we recommend that you seek independent confirmation of the date and kick-off time of the match. For example, you could look at your ticket, or at the official Arsenal website.
  • European dates: Champs League matches will take place on Tuesdays and Wednesdays (half-and-half). Fixtures that have not yet been scheduled are shown as T/W meaning Tuesday or Wednesday, with the date being shown for the Tuesday. If we finish 3rd in the group stage we will transfer to the 3rd round of the UEFA Cup, which is why I've included those dates too.

Top July August September October December January February March April May
                   Last season's calendar
 
f    Sat Jul  15  A   Barnet                        D   0 - 0   
f    Sat Jul  22  H   Ajax                          W   2 - 1   (Bergkamp testimonial)
f    Tue Jul  25  A   SV_Mattersburg                W   2 - 1
f    Mon Jul  31  A   Schwadorf                     W   8 - 1
 
f    Fri Aug   4  A   AZ_Alkmaar                    W   3 - 0
f    Fri Aug   4  A   Borehamwood                   W   4 - 0

E    Tue Aug   8  A   Dinamo_Zagreb                 W   3 - 0   Fa2 vP
     Sat Aug  19  H   Aston_Villa                   D   1 - 1   Gi
E    Wed Aug  23  H   Dinamo_Zagreb                 W   2 - 1   Lj Fl
     Sat Aug  26  A   Manchester_City               L   0 - 1
  
     Sat Sep   9  H   Middlesbrough                 D   1 - 1   He
E    Wed Sep  13  A   Hamburg                       W   2 - 1   Gi Ro
     Sun Sep  17  A   Manchester_United             W   1 - 0   Ad
     Sat Sep  23  H   Sheffield_United              W   3 - 0   Ga og He
E    Tue Sep  26  H   Porto                         W   2 - 0   He Hl
     Sat Sep  30  A   Charlton_Athletic             W   2 - 1   vP2
 
     Sat Oct  14  H   Watford                       W   3 - 0   og He Ad
E    Tue Oct  17  A   CSKA_Moscow                   L   0 - 1
     Sun Oct  22  A   Reading                       W   4 - 0   He2 Hl vP
L    Tue Oct  24  A   West_Bromwich_Albion          W   2 - 0   Al2
     Sat Oct  28  H   Everton                       D   1 - 1   vP
 
E    Wed Nov   1  H   CSKA_Moscow                   D   0 - 0
     Sun Nov   5  A   West_Ham_United               L   0 - 1
L    Wed Nov   8  A   Everton                       W   1 - 0   Ad
     Sun Nov  12  H   Liverpool                     W   3 - 0   Fl To Ga
     Sat Nov  18  H   Newcastle                     D   1 - 1   He
E    Tue Nov  21  H   Hamburg                       W   3 - 1   vP Eb Ba
     Sat Nov  25  A   Bolton_Wanderers              L   1 - 3   Gi
     Wed Nov  29  A   Fulham                        L   1 - 2   vP
 
     Sat Dec   2  H   Tottenham_Hotspur             W   3 - 0   Ad Gi2
E    Wed Dec   6  A   Porto                         D   0 - 0
     Sun Dec  10  A   Chelsea                       D   1 - 1   Fl
     Wed Dec  13  A   Wigan_Athletic                W   1 - 0   Ad
E    Fri Dec  15  -   Draw for Champs League knockout stage
     Sat Dec  16  H   Portsmouth                    D   2 - 2   Ad Gi
L    Tue Dec  19  A   Liverpool  League Cup QF fogged off
     Sat Dec  23  H   Blackburn_Rovers              W   6 - 2   Gi Hl Ad vP2 Fl
     Tue Dec  26  A   Watford                       W   2 - 1   Gi vP
     Sat Dec  30  A   Sheffield_United              L   0 - 1
 
     Tue Jan   2  H   Charlton_Athletic             W   4 - 0   He Ho vP2
F    Sat Jan   6  A   Liverpool                     W   3 - 1   Ro2 He
L    Tue Jan   9  A   Liverpool                     W   6 - 3   Al Ba4 So
     Sat Jan  13  A   Blackburn_Rovers              W   2 - 0   To He
     Sun Jan  21  H   Manchester_United             W   2 - 1   vP He
L    Wed Jan  24  A   Tottenham_Hotspur             D   2 - 2   Ba2
F    Sun Jan  28  H   Bolton_Wanderers              D   1 - 1   To
L    Wed Jan  31  H   Tottenham_Hotspur             W   3 - 1   Ad Al og
 
     Sat Feb   3  A   Middlesbrough                 D   1 - 1   He
     Sun Feb  11  H   Wigan_Athletic                W   2 - 1   og Ro
F    Wed Feb  14  A   Bolton_Wanderers              W   3 - 1   Ad2 Lj
     Wed Feb  14  H   Manchester_City               (postponed)
F    Sat Feb  17  H   Blackburn_Rovers              D   0 - 0
E    Tue Feb  20  A   PSV_Eindhoven                 L   0 - 1
     Sat Feb  24  A   Aston_Villa                   postponed till 14/03
L    Sun Feb  25  N   Chelsea                       L   1 - 2   Wa
     Wed Feb  28  H   Manchester_City               (postponed, again)
F    Wed Feb  28  A   Blackburn_Rovers              L   0 - 1
 
     Sat Mar   3  H   Reading                       W   2 - 1   Gi Ba
E    Wed Mar   7  H   PSV_Eindhoven                 D   1 - 1   og
F    Sun Mar  11  H   Quarter-final (if we win 5th rnd replay) ko 4pm
     Wed Mar  14  A   Aston_Villa                   W   1 - 0   Di
     Sun Mar  18  A   Everton                       L   0 - 1
     Sat Mar  31  A   Liverpool                     L   4 - 1   Ga
 
E    T/W Apr   3  ?   Champs League quarter-final 1st leg
     Sat Apr   7  H   West_Ham_United               L   0 - 1
     Mon Apr   9  A   Newcastle_United              D   0 - 0
E    T/W Apr  10  ?   Champs League quarter-final 2nd leg
     Sat Apr  14  H   Bolton_Wanderers              W   2 - 1   Ro Fa
     Tue Apr  17  H   Manchester_City               W   3 - 1   Ro Fa Ba
     Sat Apr  21  A   Tottenham_Hotspur             D   2 - 2   To Ad
E    T/W Apr  24  ?   Champs League semi-final 1st leg
     Sun Apr  29  H   Fulham                        W   3 - 1   Ba Ad Gi
 
E    T/W May   1  ?   Champs League semi-final 2nd leg
     Sat May   5  H   Chelsea                       (ko 3pm)
     Sun May  13  A   Portsmouth                    (ko TBA)
F    Sat May  19  N   FA Cup Final
E    Wed May  23  N   Champs League Final
Top July August September October December January February March April May

Key to Calendar

First letter
blank = Premiership
   F  = FA Cup
   L  = Worthington (League) Cup
   E  = Europe (Champions League)
   I  = International Date
   f  = friendly
   o  = other match
   D  = significant date

An asterisk by a date indicates that the match has been rearranged.
A question mark by a date means that the date has yet to be confirmed.

See Goalscorers table below for 2-letter scorer codes. 

Goalscorers Table

(Does not include friendlies or Charity Shield, players with no goals in the table are listed to enable decoding of friendly results above)
                        PREM  FAC   LC  Euro  TOTALS
vP  Robin_van_Persie    11    0    0    2   13   
He  Thierry_Henry       11    0    0    1   12   
Ad  Emmanuel_Adebayor    9    2    1    0   12   
Gi  Gilberto             9    0    0    1   10   
Ba  Julio_Baptista       3    0    6    1   10   
Ro  Tomas_Rosicky        3    2    0    1    6   
Fl  Matthieu_Flamini     3    0    0    1    4   
To  Kolo_Toure           3    1    0    0    4   
Al  Jeremie_Aliadiere   0    0    4    0    4
Ga  William_Gallas       3    0    0    0    3   
Hl  Alexander_Hleb       2    0    0    1    3   
Fa  Cesc_Fabregas        2    0    0    2    4   
Ho  Justin_Hoyte         1    0    0    0    1   
Di  Abou_Diaby           1    0    0    0    1   
Wa  Theo_Walcott         0    0    1    0    1   
So  Alexandre_Song       0    0    1    0    1   
Eb  Emmanuel_Eboue       0    0    0    1    1   
Lj  Fredrick_Ljungberg   0    1    0    1    2   
og  Own_Goal             3    0    1    1    5   


Copyright

and the

Arseweb

Calendar

The FA Premier League (FAPL) have contacted us, claiming copyright on future Premier League fixtures and asking us to remove them from this page.

We have not done so, believing their claim to be faulty for the following reasons.

  • As we understand UK and US copyright law (the ArseWeb server is in the US), you cannot copyright information, only its representation. (but see update below)
  • The ArseWeb calendar contains information about Arsenal's Premier League matches as well as matches in other competitions and other dates of interest to Arsenal fans. This information has been extracted (not copied) from various sources, and formatted by us into the page you see below.
We have asked the FAPL to explain their claim in the light of the 2 observations above and they have failed to supply any answers. The only information they have said that they can provide (but which has not yet arrived) is a copy of a document transferring copyright from the computer company which generated the fixtures. This may show that, if anyone holds the copyright on the fixtures, it is the FAPL. But it does not address the question of whether it is possible to hold such copyright, nor the question of whether or not this page infringes such copyright, if it exists.

The FAPL claim that they are protecting the interests of newspapers etc who choose to pay 400 for a licence to print the fixtures. Our belief is that this is irrelevant to the questions posed above. We applaud the FAPL for extracting this money from large organisations who can afford to pay for it and thus bring some money into the game. If other people choose to pay for the licence that is their affair. What we are looking for is some evidence that they, and we, are obliged to buy the licence.

If someone can answer these questions to our satisfaction then we will happily remove copyrighted content from this page. At ArseWeb we have no desire to steal other people's intellectual property. We do not use the club crest, we no longer take photos from other sites, and we do not supply video clips for this reason. But we see the ArseWeb calendar as a unique creation (if not now, it was when we started it). We take pride in it and do not wish to change it for the sake of a petty and unsubstantiated claim. If we must change it, we require explanation of the law, in order to know what we can do without infringing copyright.

If any ArseWeb readers have expert knowledge of relevant law concerning copyright and/or internet issues, we would be very grateful if you would get in touch. Thanks.

update 20/12/00
As we have gathered more information on the legal situation, thanks largely to many helpful ArseWeb readers, it has become clear that one can hold copyright on this kind of information. There is no question that if someone simply reproduces the FAPL's fixture list, they are in breach of copyright.

However at the same time it has also become more and more obvious that ours is a far-from-straightforward case. And although we now accept that they can hold copyright over their fixture list, we are more convinced than ever that we are not infringing that copyright by publishing this page.

There has been an interesting development. On Sky's coverage of Liverpool vs Fulham on 13/12/00 the commentator said "Liverpool's next 2 games are Man Utd and Arsenal, so Father Christmas didn't give them too many presents when he devised the fixture list."
So, it looks like the PL may have to fight a rival claim to copyright (they reckon that the fixtures were created by a computer company called Sema but we prefer the Santa theory). See Newsreel for further developments.

update 15/01/02
Thanks to everyone who sent us the url of SaveTheFixtures.
Please visit the site and sign their online petition.


For an adless, colourless version of this page (eg for printing), click here

HOME: 06-07, info, history, people, misc, Links | Newsreel | Shop | Calendar | Table | Stats | FAQs | HELP